Citizens Nominating Committee


The Citizens Nominating Committee (CNC) is responsible for nominating one candidate for each Village office (i.e., Mayor, Trustee, and Village Justice) where, that year, the incumbent's term ends. These candidates, running as the slate of the Citizens' Non-Partisan party, participate in the March Village election; those elected take office at the beginning of April.

The CNC is composed of thirty voting members and four non-voting members.

The non-voting members, residents of Scarsdale, are the President and Vice President of the TVCC, one representative designated by the TVCC from among its members, and one representative designated by the Chair of the Confederation of Scarsdale Neighborhood Presidents (SNAP) from among the directors and officers of qualified neighborhood associations.

The thirty voting members are elected for three-year terms. The terms are staggered. Each year two members from each of the five Non-Partisan Units (i.e., elementary school district) are elected to three-year terms. (From time-to-time more than two members may be elected to fill out any existing vacancies.)

The Citizen's Nominating Committee (CNC) invites Scarsdale residents and other interested persons to observe the initial portion of its Organizational Meeting, which will be held on Sunday, December 4, 2016, starting at 7:00 p.m., in the Third Floor Meeting Room at Scarsdale Village Hall. The initial portion of the meeting will include presentations or statements by and discussions with the Scarsdale Mayor and Village Trustees, discussion with respect to and voting upon the CNC’s rules of procedures (including best practices with respect to due diligence), review of the responsibilities of the CNC and certain other matters. 

The CNC will meet later in the evening and several times in December and January in order to nominate a single qualified non-partisan candidate for election to each open position on the Village Board of Trustees.  The CNC tries to get the best and most qualified Scarsdale citizens to serve our Village.

To see who is currently serving, please click here.

Chair Lena Crandall

Vice-Chair Mary Louise Perlman

Representatives TVCC - Eli Mattioli

SNAP - Matthew Martin